Literacy Starters

Primary Pete has posted on Twitter asking about favourite literacy starter ideas. He said he liked the ideas on everybody writes which features the ideas of Pie Corbett. I was lucky enough to attend a writing conference run by Pie Corbett in Jan 2007, and despite a raging toothache (mine,not his!) I thought he was great. Great enthusiasm for writing and really good ideas. I’d not come across the everybody writes site before, but I will be using it a lot in class I think for English starters.

The main resource I use for starting English lessons are the VCOP activities I downloaded from the TES resource bank. The link for these resources is here. The activities are self-explanatory and allow for focus on one of the VCOP areas. Importantly when I use these activities there is a buzz around the class with the children wanting to take part and try out new and interesting ideas. These ideas are often reflected in their subsequent writing.

~ by robertdrummond on January 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
