Wii Sports for Mean, Median and Modal averages.

I’m teaching averages this week with my maths group and I decided yesterday to begin the week by using wii sports bowling to create the data for is to work with. I first came across the idea of using the wii for maths through Tom Barrett’s Site and from Tom’s interesting ways.

I know the children will enjoy using the wii – it’s always the most popular choice in Golden Time, so that part of the plan seems fine.

I also know from assessment of the group that they need to learn about averages. Averages can tend to be a once or twice a year topic so I thought using the wii would make it memorable and thus allow the children to recall their learning easily.

I’m going to split my group into 8 groups of 3, and then into 4 groups of 6. These groups will then be the 4 teams for bowling, with each team member bowling consecutively on their team.

The teams will each have to fill in a scoresheet for each bowl from every team. This will just record the total for both throws (not the actual bowling score with strikes and spares).

From round 2 onwards we will calculate in each team, the mean, median and modal score for the entire game. One member from each team will then write their answers on the board. If the team gets all 3 answers correct I will award 5 more pins to their team score in the final total at the end (or on the excel on the IWB, not sure yet!)

We will do this until the game is complete.

I need to think about where I position the wii and TV in the class and how to place the tables I will have to move. I need space for the bowlers and space to let the group see the events. I need access to the chalk board for teams to write their averages up and also space for them to work without other groups overhearing them!

I’m really looking forward to it, let’s see what happens!

~ by robertdrummond on January 17, 2010.

7 Responses to “Wii Sports for Mean, Median and Modal averages.”

  1. […] Platform: Wii Age: 10 – 16 Example: Robert Drummond […]

  2. This lesson looks wonderful! Have you done it with your students yet? How did it go? Did the students concentrate on the mathematics or just focused on actually playing the wii? I’m a first year teacher and I would love to try it with my class. I was wondering if you had a lesson plan that explained it in further detail so that I could do it with my class or the score sheets that go along with the lesson. Thanks.

    • Thanks Becky.
      I have done it with my students and I feel it went very well. I thought really hard about how to get the children to focus on the bits I wanted them to focus on. In the lesson we had a ‘bowl’ then a maths bit and returned to the bowling. The children played their frames of bowling (in 4 teams) and once all 4 teams had bowled their frames, I muted the sound and we worked out our median, mode and mean so far. The fact that we had to complete the maths bit before we could do the next round of bowling seemed to focus the children on the work.
      I do have a lesson plan and scoresheets saved. Drop me an e-mail (or tweet) and I’ll send you a copy,
      Robert

  3. Hi
    I’m really interested in your wii bowling lesson. It sounds great. I’m currently trying to research and plan a series of short sessions using the wii to develop maths to engage a group of Y6 boys. Would it be possible to have a copy of your lesson plan and scoresheet.

  4. Robert,
    This sounds like a way to make finding the landmarks memorable! I’m reviewing graphing along with landmarks and am considering using wii to gather data. Would you mind emailing me a copy of the lesson plan. I’m also thinking the baseball acrtivity would be fun to do on opening day of Major League Baseball as a way to celebrate. Thanks for sharing!

  5. This is quite possibly my favorite use of technology in the classroom that I’ve seen so far. Not only is it fun, but it shows kids how math is used everyday, something they are always wanting.
    I just posted a blog post/video on mean,median,mode, and range and came across this while looking for inspiration. These kids are lucky to have such an involved teacher!

    http://blog.thinkwell.com/2010/08/7th-grade-math-mean-median-mode-and-range.html

Leave a Reply

 
